raymarine stuff

Posts on navigation units, changes and equipment
Post Reply
northerncat
Posts: 849
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 5:55 pm
Location: cairns
Contact:

raymarine stuff

Post by northerncat » Tue Dec 12, 2006 10:14 am

another bloke who buyilding an easy in cairns has just sourced himself all dollar raymarine nav gear, radar gps c120 screen and got it for half the price of the lowest australian quote from the us

sean

puremajek
Posts: 749
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 7:36 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia

raymarine stuff

Post by puremajek » Tue Dec 12, 2006 11:32 am

Tell him to make sure that the serial numbers have not been removed
James
______________________________________________
http://www.diycatamaran.com
http://www.puremajek.com
______________________________________________

puremajek
Posts: 749
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 7:36 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia

Re: Raymarine Specific

Post by puremajek » Thu Apr 21, 2011 8:43 pm

Any negatives from anyone on the Raymarine Instruments, in particular wind?
James
______________________________________________
http://www.diycatamaran.com
http://www.puremajek.com
______________________________________________

44c
Posts: 1146
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:08 am
Location: Hervey Bay, Qld

Re: raymarine stuff

Post by 44c » Fri Apr 22, 2011 5:54 am

I have the Raymarine ST60+ speed, depth and wind.

Generally very happy with all of them, the only strange thing that has happened is occassionally they switched units on me.

ie speed - was a bit shocked to see 29 knots - turned out to be kph!

But not as exciting as when you think your sailing in 3 metres of water, then realise its 3 feet...

This happened a couple of times, but not lately.

puremajek
Posts: 749
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 7:36 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia

Re: raymarine stuff

Post by puremajek » Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:18 am

44C
Thank you for the reply. Have I read somewhere that you have yours connected into a Northstar multifunction unit? I can get an ST60 sail pack for USD1360 (ins, post, gst AUD1600) delivered and have the option to extend the warranty to 3years (additional cost).
James
______________________________________________
http://www.diycatamaran.com
http://www.puremajek.com
______________________________________________

travel4fun
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 5:53 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast

Re: raymarine stuff

Post by travel4fun » Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:06 am

searching to purchase a Raymarine VHF 55e here in oz they are $600 and out of the US $265 are there any location issues I need to know about ?

Not so worried about warranty.

To the mods if this is in the wrong place happy for you to move it.

Travel4fun

44c
Posts: 1146
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:08 am
Location: Hervey Bay, Qld

Re: raymarine stuff

Post by 44c » Thu Mar 07, 2013 8:51 am

They use different channels in the US. Just make sure the radio can handle international channels as well as the US ones. Most likely it will, as most of them do.

The only other possible problem could be that Aus suppliers won't honour the warranty of a unit bought overseas. They are getting pissed off with everybody bypassing them and saving heaps of money.

Chrisg
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 6:55 am
Location: Country Victoria

Re: raymarine stuff

Post by Chrisg » Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:40 pm

so what are the Channels(frequencies) used in the US vs the channels(frequencies) used in Australia. They will be listed somewhere. Raymarine would know. Ask a techo person and let us all know.
Chris & Michelle

Outback Dreamer - Sarah 23
http://www.outbackdreamer.com

Chrisg
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 6:55 am
Location: Country Victoria

Re: raymarine stuff

Post by Chrisg » Thu Mar 07, 2013 1:50 pm

Look at the back pages of the Raymarine installation manual and compare the channels under the US and International Channels and frequencies:

http://www.raymarine.com.au/manualsearc ... rch=Search
Chris & Michelle

Outback Dreamer - Sarah 23
http://www.outbackdreamer.com

44c
Posts: 1146
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:08 am
Location: Hervey Bay, Qld

Re: raymarine stuff

Post by 44c » Fri Mar 08, 2013 7:48 am

Usually it's just a matter of selecting "International" or "US" in a menu somewhere.

I think most radios would have this feature, since they are sold worldwide usually, and also US boats can travel worldwide.

It's just something I'd check before buying from the US.

Post Reply