Page 1 of 1

raymarine stuff

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 10:14 am
by northerncat
another bloke who buyilding an easy in cairns has just sourced himself all dollar raymarine nav gear, radar gps c120 screen and got it for half the price of the lowest australian quote from the us

sean

raymarine stuff

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 11:32 am
by mySerenity
Tell him to make sure that the serial numbers have not been removed

Re: Raymarine Specific

Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 8:43 pm
by mySerenity
Any negatives from anyone on the Raymarine Instruments, in particular wind?

Re: raymarine stuff

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 5:54 am
by 44c
I have the Raymarine ST60+ speed, depth and wind.

Generally very happy with all of them, the only strange thing that has happened is occassionally they switched units on me.

ie speed - was a bit shocked to see 29 knots - turned out to be kph!

But not as exciting as when you think your sailing in 3 metres of water, then realise its 3 feet...

This happened a couple of times, but not lately.

Re: raymarine stuff

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:18 am
by mySerenity
44C
Thank you for the reply. Have I read somewhere that you have yours connected into a Northstar multifunction unit? I can get an ST60 sail pack for USD1360 (ins, post, gst AUD1600) delivered and have the option to extend the warranty to 3years (additional cost).

Re: raymarine stuff

Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:06 am
by travel4fun
searching to purchase a Raymarine VHF 55e here in oz they are $600 and out of the US $265 are there any location issues I need to know about ?

Not so worried about warranty.

To the mods if this is in the wrong place happy for you to move it.

Travel4fun

Re: raymarine stuff

Posted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 8:51 am
by 44c
They use different channels in the US. Just make sure the radio can handle international channels as well as the US ones. Most likely it will, as most of them do.

The only other possible problem could be that Aus suppliers won't honour the warranty of a unit bought overseas. They are getting pissed off with everybody bypassing them and saving heaps of money.

Re: raymarine stuff

Posted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:40 pm
by Chrisg
so what are the Channels(frequencies) used in the US vs the channels(frequencies) used in Australia. They will be listed somewhere. Raymarine would know. Ask a techo person and let us all know.

Re: raymarine stuff

Posted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 1:50 pm
by Chrisg
Look at the back pages of the Raymarine installation manual and compare the channels under the US and International Channels and frequencies:

http://www.raymarine.com.au/manualsearc ... rch=Search

Re: raymarine stuff

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 7:48 am
by 44c
Usually it's just a matter of selecting "International" or "US" in a menu somewhere.

I think most radios would have this feature, since they are sold worldwide usually, and also US boats can travel worldwide.

It's just something I'd check before buying from the US.