SSL Domain

Any important information about the Website and Forum
rexd666
Site Admin
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:15 am
Location: Melbourne, Vic

SSL Domain

Post by rexd666 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 11:38 pm

Kind of a techo thing that most of you won't be too fussed with but the site is now running under SSL, this means that the URL is now https://diy-yachts.com. Any old links will redirect, but if you have a direct shortcut you might want to update as it may cut a few ms off the load time for the site.

Most browsers now show security status of the website using some lock symbol on the URL and google is pushing it hard in Chrome by giving non SSL sites a red X soon. So I figured I may as well get it sorted while I was doing some maintenance. Any issues let me know in here.
Thanks
Steve

kjay
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 2:03 am
Location: brisbane

Re: SSL Domain

Post by kjay » Sun Jan 31, 2016 12:38 am

I have no idea what you just said, but thank you....

John

Finally
Posts: 223
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:24 am
Location: Cairns

Re: SSL Domain

Post by Finally » Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:21 am

I'm viewing this on my phone but cannot access DIY through my laptop. Did not use my shortcut - typed the URL.
Using Chrome and get the "X" message Your connection is not private.
Any clues what to do?

rexd666
Site Admin
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:15 am
Location: Melbourne, Vic

Re: SSL Domain

Post by rexd666 » Tue Feb 02, 2016 7:33 am

Odd since this is actually supposed to address that issue. I have tried Chrome (Windows 7 and OS X), and Safari and no issues. Is the laptop old? Like Windows XP old? If you know OS and Chrome version (under the 3 bars button on the RHS, Help->About Chrome) let me know so I can test.
The error should also give you some details, might be a link on the error page, or on the red x. For the screen shot below I clicked the Green lock before https:// , it said connection is secure Show Details, clicked that and gives me this, see if you can get some info on yours?

typing diy-yachts.com should redirect to https://diy-yachts.com
diychrome.PNG

Finally
Posts: 223
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:24 am
Location: Cairns

Re: SSL Domain

Post by Finally » Tue Feb 02, 2016 8:09 am

Yep - laptop is old XP. Been very reliable but hand promised myself a new one when I launch.
Chrome version 48.0.2564.97 m
Screen shot (hopefully) attached
DIY-20160202-065713268.docx
(1.72 MiB) Downloaded 487 times

rexd666
Site Admin
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:15 am
Location: Melbourne, Vic

Re: SSL Domain

Post by rexd666 » Tue Feb 02, 2016 7:33 pm

OK that's awesome I can test with that information. I appreciate that not everyone is on the latest and greatest, so appreciate you letting me know about the issue as others may not be able to.
I disabled some known insecure options on the server. It is very possible that XP doesn't have any secure options anymore as no one is updating it anymore. Will let you know what I find

rexd666
Site Admin
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:15 am
Location: Melbourne, Vic

Re: SSL Domain

Post by rexd666 » Tue Feb 02, 2016 8:49 pm

Good news I can replicate the problem. I am using a free SSL certificate as part of a global initiative to secure the web, but looks like it has an issue with Windows XP. In that popup window from your screenshot the Certification Path tab will show a yellow exclamation mark against the Let's Encrypt certificate.
https://github.com/letsencrypt/letsencrypt/issues/1660
Anyway long story cut short nothing you can do your end, although getting rid of XP would solve it.
But with about 5% of unique visitors to the site using Windows XP looks like I need to solve it. Bear with me while I see what options I can come up with that will be supported by XP.

rexd666
Site Admin
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:15 am
Location: Melbourne, Vic

Re: SSL Domain

Post by rexd666 » Tue Feb 02, 2016 10:47 pm

OK $6 got me a commercial SSL certificate, that seems to have solved the issue for me on my XP test VM.
Let me know if you are back up and running.
Steve

Here is the breakdown of Windows versions in use on the site, just cause I was looking at it.
Screen Shot 2016-02-02 at 10.52.42 PM.png

Finally
Posts: 223
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:24 am
Location: Cairns

Re: SSL Domain

Post by Finally » Tue Feb 02, 2016 10:51 pm

SUCCESS!!!!

Thanks for your help.

Now back to screens I can actually read.

David

mahnamahna
Posts: 580
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 4:48 pm
Location: Gosford NSW

Re: SSL Domain

Post by mahnamahna » Wed May 04, 2016 4:08 pm

Anyone else been having trouble accessing site in last few days. I had to ring my service provider, they reset me at the exchange and I can now access on home network, on my pc but the phone on the same wifi network still no access, but on 4g on same phone no problem. Wierd.

Post Reply