Desalinator [moved from MV Catapult build]

The watery and smelly sides of life.
groper

Desalinator [moved from MV Catapult build]

Post by groper » Fri Jan 15, 2016 4:50 am

Ok time to talk about desalinators.

Me and Dave (aka finally) are building our own. We have started acquiring all the parts and i will begin putting it together once it all arrives.

I have a jabsco deckwash pump for washing down the cockpit, so i am going to feed the high pressure pump from it via 2x prefilters and a low pressure guage.
We are using a CAT pump 2Sf35SEEL SS high pressure pump.
This is direct coupled (flange mounted) to a 1.1kW 6pole 240VAC induction motor which will spin it at a reduced speed of 940rpm giving a total flow rate of 1.88GPM. The pump will absorb approx 0.82kw at this rpm but electric motor sizes step up from 0.75kw to 1.1kw so we had to go for the 1.1kw. Electrical power consumption will be around 1kW as the induction motor has approx 80% electrical efficiency.
The high pressure line feeds a 2540 membrane in a FRP housing, to a high pressure guage and finishes with a needle valve to regulate the pressure.
The system should provide approx 50L of freshwater per hour, although calculations are showing more like 66L per hour if a recovery rate of 15% is assumed... 66L sounds a bit optimistic, from comparison to other similar systems 50L sounds about right.

We have sourced the SS high pressure pump, SS guages and SS needle valves from the USA for better pricing despite the tanking AUD...go figure... We have found a local supplier in australia for the high pressure FRP housing and membrane which were competitive on the pricing compared to importing from the US. All the other little bits will be sourced locally, ENZED and pirtek etc can make up the high pressure hoses and the prefilters can be bought cheap from bunnings ebay etc... Total cost for the system should be under $3500.