pumps

The watery and smelly sides of life.
northerncat

pumps

Post by northerncat » Sun Aug 06, 2006 7:41 pm

on the subject of pumps is it better to get a 99$ 10l per min or do you need more flow per minute what do you chase in a pump, also what sort of flow?pressure do you need for a wash downm pump

sean

Smooth Cruiser

pumps

Post by Smooth Cruiser » Mon Aug 07, 2006 3:05 am

I reckon the cheapo is OK - I have an $89 Jabsco 11 l/min.

For a deck wash pump I have a 13.2 l/min Shurflo pump which does a reasonable job - it puts out enough flow for any washing down needs, but the pressure is not great through a normal bore garden hose - a pressure nozzle may help. It is fine for general washing down of dirt that isn't caked on!

Edited to add: The reason I think a cheapo is fine is because I am not left vulnerable if the pump fails. I can always get water out of the tank using one of the other pumps on board or manually - by other pumps I mean the deck wash pump, either of the bilge pumps or even the shower sump pump, all of which could be plumbed in easily (after a good clean out!!) and could deliver fresh water.

puremajek

pumps

Post by puremajek » Fri Mar 30, 2007 7:08 am

On the prowl for the gear here.

I have a Jabsco 11 l/min pump with a 50 psi pressure switch and it seems fine as is!!
Would really appreciate an update Smooth Cruiser
Johnson pumps make a 2 litre accumulator
44C, you can't give us any clues on the dirtection you are going?

Thank you in advance
James

44c

pumps

Post by 44c » Sat Mar 31, 2007 10:18 am

Geez. I'm still a fair way away from really thinking about pumps. I'm just building the catwalk now. But I can't see myself spending any more than $200 on a pump/accumulator. The way I have laid the boat out, the shower and galley are in the same hull, quite close to where the pump will be, (well it will be almost IN the shower) so there shouldn't be much in the way of pressure losses.

Smooth Cruiser

pumps